Thursday 16 July - POSTPONED to Thursday July 22, 2021 / In case of bad weather, the performance is postponed to the following day.


Roman Theatre

In case of bad weather, the performance is postponed to the following day.

duration: 1.45

 

by the Béjart Ballet Lausanne

(Le Presbytère n’a rien perdu de son charme, ni le jardin de son éclat, also Ballet for Life)

 

CHOREOGRAPHY Maurice Béjart

MUSIC Queen / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

COSTUME DESIGN Gianni Versace

LIGHTING DESIGN Clément Cayrol

LIGHTING Dominique Roman

VIDEO EDITING Germaine Cohen

 

Ballet created at Lausanne’s Salle Métropole on 15 December 1996

 

A little more than thirty years ago, right in the middle of the music of Berlioz surprisingly interrupted by noise of bombing and of machine-gun fire, a rather unconventional Brother Laurent was crying out in front of Jorge Donn and Hitomi Asakawa “Make love, not war!”

 

Today, Gil Roman, about as old as is the creation of my Romeo and Juliet, surrounded by dancers who have never seen this ballet, answers: “You told us to make love, not war. We made love. Why is love making us war?” – the anguished cry of a youth for which the problem of death by love is added to that of the many wars that have not stopped raging since the so-called END of the last world war!

 

My ballets are encounters first of all: with a music, with life, with death, with love – with beings whose past and work are reincarnating in me, just as the dancer I no longer am is reincarnated every time in performers that go beyond him.

 

Instant love for Queen’s music. Inventiveness, violence, humour, love – everything is there. I love them, they inspire me, they guide me and, from time to time in that no man’s land where we are all destined to go one day, Freddy Mercury, I’m sure, is playing the piano with Mozart.

 

A ballet about youth and hope, since, a hopeless optimist, I also believe that, in spite of all, the show must go on, as Queen sings.

 

Maurice Béjart

 

 

(c)Grégory Batardon

 





Share this piece of news


(c) Ilia Chkolnik
See all shows

Newsletter Subscibe to the Newsletter

All the latest news and offers from Chorégies d'Orange directly in your inbox

SitemapLegal Notice / Credits

Ballet for Life / Queen + Béjart

Jeudi 16 juillet - Report au lendemain en cas de mauvais temps


Théâtre Antique

Jeudi 16 juillet à 21h30

Report, en cas de mauvais temps, au lendemain

durée : 1h45

par le Béjart Ballet Lausanne
(titre en français : 
Le Presbytère n’a rien perdu de son charme, ni le jardin de son éclat) 

CHORÉGRAPHIE Maurice Béjart 
MUSIQUE Queen / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 
CRÉATION COSTUMES Gianni Versace
CRÉATION LUMIÈRE Clément Cayrol 
RÉALISATION LUMIÈRE Dominique Roman
MONTAGE VIDÉO Germaine Cohen 

Ballet créé à la Salle Métropole de Lausanne le 15 décembre 1996

Il y a un peu plus de trente ans, au milieu de la surprenante musique de Berlioz entrecoupée de bombardements et de bruits de mitrailleuses, un Frère Laurent peu conventionnel s’écriait devant Jorge Donn et Hitomi Asakawa: « Faites l’amour, pas la guerre ! ».

Aujourd’hui, Gil Roman, qui a à peu près l’âge de la création de mon Roméo et Juliette, entouré de danseurs qui n’ont jamais vu ce ballet répond: « Vous nous avez dit: faites l’amour, pas la guerre. Nous avons fait l’amour, pourquoi l’amour nous fait-il la guerre? ». Cri d’angoisse d’une jeunesse pour laquelle le problème de la mort par l’amour s’ajoute à celui des guerres multiples qui n’ont pas cessé dans le monde depuis la soi-disant FIN de la dernière guerre mondiale !

Mes ballets sont avant tout des rencontres: avec une musique, avec la vie, avec la mort, avec l’amour... avec des êtres dont le passé et l’œuvre se réincarnent en moi, de même que le danseur que je ne suis plus, se réincarne à chaque fois en des interprètes qui le dépassent.

Coup de foudre pour la musique de Queen. Invention, violence, humour, amour, tout est là. Je les aime, ils m’inspirent, ils me guident et, de temps en temps dans ce no man’s land où nous irons tous un jour, Freddie Mercury, j’en suis sûr, se met au piano avec Mozart.

Un ballet sur la jeunesse et l’espoir puisque, indécrottable, optimiste, je crois aussi malgré tout que the show must go on, comme le chante Queen.

Maurice Béjart

(c)Grégory Batardon

 



Réserver pour ce spectacle

Partager cette actualité

Newsletter Inscription à la newsletter

Toute l'actualité et les offres des Chorégies d'Orange directement dans votre boîte mail

Plan du siteMentions Légales / Crédits