By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies to offer you services and offers tailored to your interests and make visits statistics.Confirm

(c) Romain Mallet

A-A+

The Saint Louis Yard

The Saint Louis Yard is situated next to the Saint Louis Chapel.

To be found ‘Rue de l’Ancien-Collège’, it is now the courtyard to the Academy of Music of Orange.

It seats 380 and is the venue every summer for some of the concerts and recitals of the Chorégies d’Orange. During the 2015 season, it hosted the radio station France Musique for a live broadcast, before an audience, of its magazine about music festivals.

 Saint Louis Chapel

In 1718 the Grand Temple was given over to the Order of the Fathers of Christian Doctrine, who had come to Orange, to serve as a church for their secondary school and their seminary. Consecrated in 1719, the chapel is dedicated to Saint Louis. During the Terror, the ‘Commission Populaire’, a revolutionary court, held its sessions there from 3 June to 31 July 1794, summoning many inhabitants of the Departments of Vaucluse and Bouches-du-Rhône. 332 of them were condemned to death as ‘fanatics’ or ‘federalists’, and guillotined and buried in common graves in the hamlet of Gabet in the district of Laplane. A chapel was erected there in their memory in 1832. In 1865 the City sold the premises to the Sisters of the Presentation of Virgin Mary, whose current school was built on the hill in 1972.

The Festival

• History • Stages National Roman Theatre The Saint Louis Yard Our Lady of Nazareth Cathedral • organization board of directors Teams • Around the festival Educational work Social work International action • Partners

Practical Information

• Booking Price of the seats Booking procedure • Your stay in Orange Coming to Orange Accommodation

Subscribe to the Newsletter

All the latest news and offers from Chorégies d'Orange directly in your inbox





Connection to the Press Space

Go to the Press Space




Connecting to the Members area

To access the Members area please log

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour vous proposer des services et des offres adaptées à vos centres d'intérêts et réaliser des statistiques de visites.Valider

(c) Romain Mallet

A-A+

Cour Saint Louis

La Cour Saint-Louis est adjacente à la Chapelle Saint-Louis.
Située rue Ancien Collège, elle est actuelle la cour du Conservatoire d'Orange.
D'une capacité de 380 places, elle accueille chaque été certains concerts et récitals des Chorégies d'Orange. Lors de la saison 2015, la magazine des festivals de France Musique s'y est installé pour une émission en direct et en public.

La Chapelle Saint Louis
En 1718, le Grand Temple est donné aux Pères de la Doctrine Chrétienne venus s'établir à Orange pour servir d'église à leur collège et à leur séminaire. Consacrée en 1719, la chapelle est dédiée à saint Louis. Sous la Terreur, la Commission populaire y siège du 3 juin au 31 juillet 1794, et de nombreux ressortissants des départements de Vaucluse et des Bouches-du-Rhône doivent comparaître devant ce tribunal révolutionnaire.332 d'entre eux furent condamnés à mort comme "fanatiques" ou "fédéralistes", et ensevelis dans des fosses communes au lieu-dit de Gabet, quartier de Laplane ; une chapelle y est érigée à leur mémoire en 1832. En 1865, la ville vend ces bâtiments aux sœurs de la Présentation de Marie, dont le collège actuel a été construit sur la colline en 1972.

Présentation du festival

• Histoire • Scènes Théâtre antique national Cour Saint Louis Cathédrale Notre-Dame-de-Nazareth • Organisation Conseil d'administration L'équipe • Autour du festival Action pédagogique Action sociale Action internationale • Partenaires

Informations pratiques

• Réservation des places Prix des places Modalités de réservation • Votre séjour à Orange Venir à Orange Hébergements

S'inscrire à la newsletter

Je souhaite m'inscrire à la newsletter des Chorégies d'Orange





Connexion à l'espace presse

Pour accéder à l'espace presse, veuillez vous identifier




Connexion à l'espace adhérents

Pour accéder à l'espace adhérents, veuillez vous identifier